The Department of Physics and Electronics Hansraj College

Report @ Visit to IUAC

Event name: IUAC visit on the occasion of National Science Day, 2024 Date of the event: 28th February, 2024

Great physicist, Nobel laureate, and Bharat Ratna recipient Sir C V Raman was instrumental in India's growth in the fields of science and physics. He discovered the Raman Effect on February 28, 1928. So every year on February 28, National Science Day is celebrated to pay tribute to Sir C.V. Raman and his discovery.

One of the premier research institute in India, Inter University Acceleration Centre (IUAC) celebrates National Science Day on 28th February every year with day long activities and allows students from different colleges to come and explore the different dimensions of physics. This year too it has been a very thoughtful celebration. From Department of Physics and Electronics, Hansraj College, 9 students along with two faculties, Dr. Neelakshi Niti Kachari Borah and Dr. Neelam Singh have taken active participation in the National Science Day program at IUAC. The students have been made aware of recent developments and innovations happening in the science and technology arena at IUAC as well as at the other ends of the country. They have been encouraged and provoked to develop their research temperament and come forward in future for nation building. Students have also visited the high end research facilities available @ IUAC. This exposure has further induced the young brains towards contemporary science and technology.

We look forward to take students on such fruitful visits in future at the other premier research institutions.

<u>List of Students from Dept. of Physics and Electronics, Hansraj College for National</u> <u>Science Day Celebration on 28th February at IUAC</u>

- 1. Mahesh, B.Sc.(H) Physics, VI sem
- 2. Sumer, B.Sc.(H) Physics, VI sem
- 3. Sudeepto Dixit, B.Sc.(H) Physics, VI sem
- 4. Adithya Krishna, B.Sc.(H) Physics, VI sem
- 5. CA Tushar Anand Naidu, B.Sc.(H) Physics, VI sem
- 6. Ayush Sharma, B.Sc.(H) Physics, VI sem
- 7. Puneet Purshottam, B.Sc.(H) Physics, VI sem
- 8. Naman Sharma, B.Sc.(H) Physics, VI sem
- 9. Abhishek Goyal, B.Sc.(H) Physics, VI sem

Faculties

- 1. Dr Neelakshi Niti Kachari Borah, Asst. Prof., Dept. of Physics and Electronics
- 2. Dr Neelam Singh, Asst. Prof., Dept. of Physics and Electronics

Pictures from the visit

